Trade and Economic organizations

Department of Economic Affairs for Southern Africa


The Department of Economic Affairs for Southern Africa of the French Embassy in South Africa, one of 132 such departments in 111 countries, is part of the international network of the French Treasury (Ministry of Economy, Finance and Industry) abroad. It covers South Africa as well as other Southern African countries : Angola (with a resident office in Luanda), Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique (with a resident office in Maputo), Namibia, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The main objectives of the Department of Economic Affairs are to:

- Analyse the economic and financial situation of Southern African countries, as well as key sectors and their market accessibility for French companies.
- Strengthen bilateral economic, commercial and financial relations
- Support international business development through the promotion of bilateral trade, investment, and participation to key projects

Physical address: Embassy of France, 250 Melk Street, Nieuw Meckleneuk, Pretoria 0181.
Telephone: 012 425 17 70 Fax: 012 425 17 79
Website: (French only)

The French Trade Commission Business France


Business France is the national agency supporting the international development of the French economy, responsible for fostering export growth by French businesses, as well as promoting and facilitating international investment in France.
It promotes France’s companies, business image and nationwide attractiveness as an investment location, and also runs the V.I.E international internship program.
Founded on January 1, 2015 through a merger between UBIFRANCE and the Invest in France Agency, Business France has 1,500 personnel, both in France and in 70 countries throughout the world, who work with a network of public and private sector partners.

The French Trade Commission Business France office is based in Johannesburg and has 15 employees:

- French Trade Commissioner & Director:
- Industry senior trade adviser:
- IT senior trade adviser:
- Consumer and health goods senior trade adviser:
- Agrotech senior trade adviser :
- Invest in France:

For further information, please visit:

- Physical address:
Inanda Greens Business Park
Augusta House
54 wierda Road West
Wierda Valley / SANDTON

- Postal address :
PO BOX 651048

-  Telephone : 0027 (0)11 303 7150

-  Fax : 0027 (0)11 303 7176

-  Trading hours :
Mon.-Thu. 8h30-12h30/ 13h15-17h15
Fri. 8h30-12h30 / 13h00-15h00

- E-mail :

- website:

The French South African Chamber of Commerce and Industry (FSACCI)


The FSACCI represents in Johannesburg and Cape Town over 200 members with business interests in France and South Africa. It is a real dynamic and powerful business network.

Mission :

- To promote reciprocal trade between France and South Africa. This is done by providing a range of services and activities, all aimed at facilitating business opportunities within the French and South African business communities.

Chairman : Mr. Philip Geromont


- Johannesburg:
Fairway Office Park, Sable House - Ground floor
52 Grosvenor Rd, Bryanston
Telephone number : +27 11 267 5750
Email :

- Cape Town:
2 Dean Street, Gardens
+27 21 422 1972
Email :

Website :

The French Development Agency (AFD)


AFD is a financial institution that is at the heart of France’s development assistance policy. Its mission is to finance development.

AFD has been operating in South Africa since 1994 with a priority target: to support public policies in favour of the social catch up of historically disadvantaged populations (HDPs).

Regional Representative : Ms. Martha Stein-Sochas

- Address :
Ballywoods Office Park
1st Floor Block Ironwood - 29 Ballyclare Drive
Bryanston P.O. BOX 786555
SANDTON 2146 South Africa

Telephone number : 011 540 7100

Fax number : 011 540 7117

Email :

To know more about AFD missions:

publié le 14/01/2016

top of the page