Visa procedure for residents in Namibia and Zambia

Since the transfers of consular competence of Zambia and Namibia to Johannesburg that intervened for visas on 1 January 2015 and 3 July 2015 respectively, the Consulate of France in Johannesburg is now the competent department of visa applications from those two countries when it comes to:

- Short stays in Overseas Departments and Regions (DROM: French Guiana, Martinique, Mayotte, Guadeloupe and Réunion) and in the Communities and Overseas Territories (CTOM: French Polynesia including Tahiti, Bora Bora, Moorea and Marquesas Islands, Wallis and Futuna, New Caledonia, St. Martin, St. Barthelemy and Saint Pierre and Miquelon);

- Long stays in France (longer than three months).

Consequently, all persons who reside in one of these two Southern African countries and who wishes to apply for a visa listed above are invited to submit their applications to the Consulate of France in Johannesburg, following the following procedure:

1 / contact the Consulate by email to inquire about the documents to be provided in relation to the purpose of the trip and request an appointment:

2 / present themselves once there has been an agreed meeting with the consulate in Johannesburg, deposit their application file complete and proceed with the process of their biometric data.

For short stay in a DROM or CTOM the visa will be done the same day for holders of Namibian and Zambian passports. However, for long-stay visas, the delay of the application, regardless of the nationality of the applicant, is spread over several days (10 days on average).

Regarding short stay visas (less than three months) for France, called Schengen visas, they are is done locally through representative agreements with European partners: in Namibia , applicants are invited to contact the German Embassy in Windhoek, whilst in Zambia, applicants must contact directly the Swedish Embassy in Lusaka.

publié le 08/08/2015

top of the page